Department of Computer Science

About The Department

The Department of Computer Science was established in the year 1986. Dr. S. Ambrose was the first Head of the Department. Dr. C. Xavier and Dr. Paul Devasahayam joined in the department at the same time. Rev Dr. G. A. Savariraj S. J., the first director of Xavier Institute of Computer Science was the driving force behind all the successful developments in the department in the beginning stage.

In the year 1988, Mr. A. Arokiadass, Dr. J. L. Walter Jeyakumar and Dr. S.P. Victor joined in the department. Dr. Paul Devasahayam left the department on a foreign assignment. In the year 2000, Dr. S. John Peter joined the department. In the year 2000, Dr. S. Ambrose retired from the service. In the same year Dr. C. Xavier left the department to join in HCL Company at Chennai. Dr. C. Xavier has written more than 10 books on Computer related subjects. Dr. T. C. Rajakumar joined the department in the year 2001. Dr. J. L. Walter Jeyakumar served as Head of the Department from the year 2004 to 2009. Dr. M. Safish Mary joined the department in the year 2007. Dr. S. P. Victor served as Head of the Department during the years 2009-2014. Dr. S. John Peter was promoted as Head of the Department in the year 2015.

The Department offers B.Sc. (Computer Science) course from 1986. The first self financing course of the College PGDCA was started under the guidance of Dr. S. Ambrose in the year 1991. M.Sc Computer Science course was started in the year 1994. M.Sc Information Technology was started in the year 2002. The Department became research department in the year 2009. In the same year, the department started to offer M.Phil and Ph.D programs. There are 5 aided and 10 unaided staff members working in the department. All the aided staff members are Ph.D holders and are guiding research scholars for M.Phil and Ph.D. All the staff members have qualified with NET/SET and 10 staff members are having M.Phil degree in Computer Science. Our staff members are actively involved in the research work and publish nearly 50 research papers every year in reputed peer reviewed national and international journals. The Staff members of the Department have served as members of board of studies for Manonmaniam Sundaranar University, Tirunelveli and the affiliated colleges. They also served as members of inspection committee of the Manonmaniam Sundaranar University for approval of Computer Courses, members of staff selection committee of other colleges, members of organizing committee of various conferences of international and national level and members of editorial board of research journals. Every year the department conducts XPASO, the state level intercollegiate competition and more than 100 Students are participating in the mega event from all over Tamil Nadu. Every year the department organizes national level conference for College teachers and researcher scholars. The Department has produced 25 Ph.D and around 50 M.Phil scholars.

To adhere to the motto of the Department "Professional Excellence", the Training and Placement Cell of the College helped to place our students in various MNCs. The companies like Wipro Technologies, TCS, HCL, Infosys, Fulcrum Technologies, Sutherland Global Services, Patni Computer Systems, iGate, Savvion, NetMagnus, Kumaran Systems, Asian Paints and ISG Novasoft prefer to provide project cum placement to our students for their values and professional commitment. To enrich and enhance the knowledge of the students department have memorandum of understanding with various software companies.